Canada's warmest welcome ®* August 19 2022

Accessibility and Age-Friendly Advisory Committee (AAFAC)

osoyoos, canada's warmest welcome

Share page

Text size reduce text size increase text size Share page Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Accessibility and Age-Friendly Advisory Committee


Accessibility and Age Friendly Advisory Committee (AAFAC) is a committee established by council resolution to provide recommendations to matters pertaining to accessibility and to report these matters to Council in order to improve accessibility in the Town of Osoyoos. The establishment of this policy will aid in removing physical and social barriers that prevent Town citizens from leading a full and productive life.

The committee will oversee the “Age Friendly Program” and will monitor and review the recommendations that are identified as part of the age friendly process. They will provide advice for future planning of municipal services, programs and facilities. They will monitor these services and evaluate the progress of these activities. This will include identifying issues related to accessibility in the community, investigating improvements to identified issues, evaluate community input in addressing these issues and advise council on preferred ways to address accessibility matters.


The committee shall consist of 5 members of the general public and will be a combination of people with disabilities, seniors, service providers who are familiar with accessibility issues and a member with a background in the construction industry. The Community Services Director will be co-chair with an appointed member from above. The co-chair will be elected by the committee at its first meeting. An elected official from Town Council will be included as a non-voting member who will act as a liaison between the committee and Council. Quorum will consist of the majority of all the current committee members.

Members will be formally appointed by Council and will sit on the advisory committee for the duration of the 4 year term of Council. Members who are absent for three consecutive meetings without notifying one of the co-chairs may be asked to leave. Council will appoint another member in this instance. Members will be required to notify one of the co-chairs at least a day prior to the meeting if possible.


Meetings will be scheduled once a month or when required. If additional meetings are required notice must be sent to the co-chairs and the majority of members must approve. A regular schedule will be approved following the first meeting. Meeting minutes will be included as part of the regular meeting of Council following every committee meeting.


Gerald Davis, Co-Chair (Town)
Mike Stiles, Co-Chair
Jim King (Town Councilor)
Sarah Lindley-Jones
Cheryl Wheaton
Sue Terada
Tanya Osborne
Pam Jensen
Jasmin Calisto 


Accessibility and Age-Friendly Advisory Committee
  1. Expand/CollapseMinutes
  2. Expand/CollapseAgendas
While every reasonable effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this data, we are not responsible for any errors or omissions contained on these pages. Please verify any information in question with the Town of Osoyoos.   Town of Osoyoos
Box 3010, 8707 Main Street
Osoyoos, BC V0H 1V0
(TF) 1.888.495.6515
(T) 250.495.6515
(F) 250.495.2400


Mission Statement
To provide quality community services and facilities, which meet the needs of the current
and future residents of Osoyoos, in a socially, economically and environmentally sustainable manner.

Copyright © 2013 Town of Osoyoos All Rights Reserved. Powered by CivicWeb CMS - Copyright © 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.